Sponsored by Shraks

Shraks vs Crocs at Work: Weight, Rating, Grip and Price, Side by Side.

Crocs at Work is the default in a lot of kitchens: light, slip-resistant, easy to clean, easy to get on. The gap worth understanding is toe protection, because most of that range is not a steel toe safety shoe.

If your site requires a rated toe cap, that decides it before any other spec. If it does not, the comparison comes down to the nine points below.

Check the current specification of any pair you are considering before you buy. Ranges within a brand vary widely, and a line can change between seasons.

Note: this comparison uses publicly listed specifications. Brand names belong to their owners and neither brand has endorsed this page.
Shraks Product Team
Mencon B.V., Rotterdam

1. Safety rating

1. Safety rating

Shraks: ASTM F2413-24 (impact, compression, puncture) and EN ISO 20345:2022 S1PSCrocs: EN ISO 20347 OB SRC, plus ASTM F2913 and F3445 for slip resistance. No ASTM F2413 and no protective toe claim.
A light clog that wipes clean and grips a wet floor is the default in a lot of kitchens, and for plenty of them it is the right call. The catch is which standard it was tested against. Crocs cites EN ISO 20347, the occupational standard, which does not require a protective toe cap at all; Shraks is certified to EN ISO 20345, the safety standard, which does. Those two numbers differ by one digit and by the entire question of whether anything is protecting your toes, which is worth knowing before an inspection asks.
👉 See the Moon

2. The toe cap

2. The toe cap

Shraks: Steel toe cap, tested to 200 joulesCrocs does not state this on the product page.
The assumption that quietly does the damage is that a shoe sold for work protects your toes. Crocs' page claims no toe cap of any kind, and the nearest it gets is protection from spills. Shraks has a steel cap tested to 200 joules, which is a stated, tested number. If nothing lands on your feet where you work, that gap may genuinely not matter; the point is that it is a gap, and the product page never says so out loud.
👉 See the Moon

3. Puncture resistance

3. Puncture resistance

Shraks: Puncture-resistant KevlarCrocs does not state this on the product page.
A cushioned, technical-looking midsole reads as a protective one, and it is doing a completely different job. Crocs' page describes what its midsole does for comfort and makes no puncture-resistance claim anywhere; Shraks states a puncture-resistant Kevlar layer. Air units and foam are built to return energy, not to stop a nail, and the two get conflated constantly because they occupy the same part of the shoe. If you walk across anything that was recently a pallet, this is the row to read twice.
👉 See the Moon

4. Upper

4. Upper

Shraks: Breathable meshCrocs does not state this on the product page.
Crocs' page never names the upper material, which is unusual enough to be worth saying plainly. Shraks uses breathable mesh over a moisture-wicking lining, which is a claim you can hold us to. A material you can't identify is a material you can't predict in August, and in a category where people stand in the same shoe for ten hours, that is not a detail.

5. Insole

5. Insole

Shraks: Cushioned and removableCrocs does not state this on the product page.
Most people put up with the insole a shoe came with, and the ones who can't buy an insert and hope it fits. Crocs' page never says whether its insole comes out, which is the answer you least want when you already wear orthotics. The Shraks footbed is cushioned and removable, so yours goes in on day one. A glued-in insole doesn't just feel worse, it makes the shoe unusable for anyone carrying a prescription insert, and that is a lot of this trade.

6. Sizing

6. Sizing

Shraks: US men's 4 to 14, women's 5 to 15Crocs: 6-12
The standard approach to a narrow size range is to take the nearest size up and wear a thicker sock, which moves the blister rather than preventing it. Crocs lists 6-12, while Shraks runs one range across the whole line. A size range that starts where men's sizes start tells you which foot the last was cut for, and everyone outside that range is buying a scaled-down version of a shoe designed for someone else.

7. Price

7. Price

Shraks: $79.99 $133.99Crocs: $49.99
Cheaper wins a lot of arguments in this category and it should win some of them. Crocs undercuts Shraks on price, and if the work genuinely doesn't put anything on your feet, that is a real saving rather than a trap. What the price gap is actually buying, though, is a different product: the cheaper shoe here is not certified safety footwear, so you are not paying less for the same protection, you are paying less and not getting it. Decide whether you need a toe cap first, and only then compare the numbers.

8. Returns window

8. Returns window

Shraks: 30-day returnsCrocs: 30 days
Both shoes give you 30 days, so on this row there is nothing to choose and we won't invent something. It is still the most useful row on the page, because it is the only one that lets you test the thing neither page can tell you. Every spec above this line can be read off a screen; whether a shoe suits your foot after nine hours cannot, and a month of real shifts is the only instrument for it.

9. Weight

9. Weight

Shraks states about 15 oz a shoe. Crocs publishes no figure you can put beside it, so we do not compare it.Lightweight is the most used word in this category and the least often followed by a number. Crocs does not publish a weight for this shoe, which means the claim can't be checked, and it is not unusual: of the sixteen competitor products we priced for these pages, twelve publish no weight at all, and the four that do never say whether the figure is for one shoe or the pair. Shraks states about 15 oz a shoe. The insight is that weight is the spec you feel every single day and the one the industry is quietest about, which is unlikely to be a coincidence.